Tips for healthy living day 1

Today I will be starting a new 7 day series on healthy living. For the next seven days I will be doing a post on ways to increase your personal health.

Today’s healthy living post is on choosing healthy food. 

Like I have previously said in a post a huge part of a healthy diet is to eat frequently (see post here). This post is not about eating to lose weight it is about eating to be healthier. 

Divide your plate

1/2 of your plate- Fruits & Veggies: Try different kinds of fruits & veggies, the more colorful the better. Vegetables are an important source of nutrients such as potassium , fiber, folic acid, vitamin A & vitamin C. These nutrients can decrease blood pressure, cholesterol, reduces constipation, helps form red blood cells, aids in the health of eyes, skin, teeth, gums and helps heal wounds quicker. Fruits and vegetables also decrease the risk of heart attack & stroke, protects against certain types of cancer, helps decrease bone loss and the risk of kidney stones. They reduce the risk of diabetes, obesity & heart disease 

1/4 of your plate- Meat & Alternatives: Some meats are high in bad cholesterol such as hotdogs, ground beef, fatty cuts of beef, pork and lamb, bologna, salami, bacon, sausage, organ meat (such as liver & giblets) & duck it is best to limit these meats (does not mean that they cannot be eaten, just in moderation). High cholesterol can lead to the increase risk of heart disease. Meat alternatives that should be limited include egg yolks.  Other meats, poultry, fish, nuts and seeds are high in nutrients such as protein, B vitamins, vitamin E, iron, zinc and magnesium. Protein helps build bones, muscles, cartilage, skin & blood as well as enzymes & hormones. B vitamins help release energy, aid in the function of red blood cells, help build body tissue & aid in the function of the body’s nervous system. Iron helps carry oxygen in the blood, magnesium is used in building bones and releasing energy from muscles and zinc helps the immune system work properly. Omega-3 fatty acids are found in seafood & eating 8 ounces a week may decrease the risk of heart disease. 

1/4 of you plate- Grains: Whole grain and multi-grains are the best however, some people cannot consume them due to bad fiber reactions or allergies to gluten. If you do not fall into one of those categories it is recommended that at least half of the grains are whole grain.  Grains are packed with nutrients such as protein, fiber, B-vitamins, antioxidants. They have been shown to decrease the risk of heart disease , type 2 diabetes, obesity & some forms of cancer. 

Glass of dairy-  Dairy is a category of great debate. Many people point out that we are the only animal that drink other animal’s milk. However, it cannot be argued that there are definite health benefits to consuming dairy. It contains calcium & vitamin D which is essential in building bones & teeth and decreases the risk of osteoporosis. Potassium which is also found in dairy products helps maintain a healthy blood pressure.

Check back tomorrow for more healthy living. 

 

28 thoughts on “Tips for healthy living day 1

  1. GlamKaren says:

    I like the vibe about being healthier – not necessarily losing weight. And – a great reminder about how many fruits/veggies we should have. Half a plate makes a strong visual about that!

    Like

  2. Terri Steffes says:

    I was just told this recently by my nutritionist, almost the same wording, about milk. I love the idea of the meats and veggies. Right now grains are out for me, so I am doing 75% veggies and 25% meat.

    Like

  3. lisa says:

    These are great tips and easily done so it doesn’t take a whole lot of effort. Looking forward to checking in for more healthy living tips – thanks!

    Like

  4. Tereza says:

    I’m all for dairy but can totally appreciate the debate. It’s very confusing but I do feel like I can physically tell the benefits when I drink it compared to when I don’t so I’m all for it! x

    Like

  5. lovelysilvia says:

    These are all wonderful tips to live a healthier life. I try to eat more chicken and turkey products over beef since it’s higher in cholesterol.

    Like

  6. Heather says:

    I think that portion control is my biggest struggle. I love to eat veggies, but I think that sometimes my overall portions are too big. I think I might try this with a smaller plate and see how I do.

    Like

  7. thecoffeemom0617 says:

    These are really great tips. I like the idea of dividing the plate. I found if i use a smaller plate, i tend to eat less because I feel like I ate a whole plate even though it is smaller than normal.

    Like

  8. reesann723 says:

    What a great way to get started! I am looking forward to following along! Eating habits are the most important part of a healthy lifestyle!

    Like

  9. workoutwithdi says:

    I’m a strong advocate of NO dairy. Calcium and vit D are added to dairy, just like they are plant based milks. Plus if dairy really was so good for us why does the US have the highest dairy intake and the highest osteoporosis rate? Cows milk is not naturally for human consumption, sorry.

    Like

Leave a Reply

