An open letter to my mom

I’m not a parent, I don’t know what it’s like to have that kind of love and devotion for someone. I don’t intend to have children but if I ever do I can only hope to be half the mother mine is.

Dear mom,

I know i’m not perfect, I know that I’ve made mistakes, but despite those mistakes you have never given up on me, never stopped loving me. I just wanted to tell you how much I love you. You are by far the most important woman in my life & the strongest woman I have ever met. Nothing that ever happens could ever change that for me. We have been through so much as a family and even though it has been hard and painful and nearly impossible to see further ahead than a minute or an hour, you have.  You are truly an inspiration and I don’t know how I ever became lucky enough to have you as my mother.

Secondly I wanted to tell you thank you. Thank you for your support, your kindness, your strength, your love. Thank you for being there when I needed you even if I didn’t necessarily want you there. Thank you for working harder than anyone I’ve ever met to make sure that I never needed anything. Thank you for the smiles, for wiping my tears and for teaching me right from wrong. For practically being a taxi service and a hair dresser and a personal shopper.

Finally I want to apologize. Apologize for all the heartache and headaches. For fighting with you or for anytime I may have disappointed you. There have been times where I lost track of what really matters or who really matters. I have chosen others over you, I have blamed you, I have yelled at you and for those things I am sorry. I would ask you to forgive me if I wasn’t sure you already had, that’s what mom’s do right?

You are my role model, my inspiration and my confident. You are by far the best mom and I couldn’t even wish for anything better. I love you with all my heart and I hope that you know it. Thank you for being my mom.

Leave a Reply

