An open letter to my best friend

Over the years I have seen many of these kinds of posts, what I love about them is they contain things that most people can relate to so I decided to write my own about my best friend of 17 years.

Dear best friend,

We may not see each other as much as we would like but that is alright. We each have our own lives, our own careers, our own families. When it comes down to it, when all bets are off and I feel like I can’t make it through, when i’m having a bad day or a good day for that matter I know that all I have to do is pick up the phone and there you are at the other end.

Sometimes we got months without talking but that is alright. True friendship doesn’t mean that we need to be in constant contact and speak everyday, it means that when push comes to shove we know the other person will be there. When we’re bored, or sad, or happy or just need a girls day or a good talk the other person is there.

Sometimes we get into fights, we disagree and argue but that is alright. If we agreed on everything and never had issues that would be pretty boring. What matters is that when we need to, we put those differences aside and have eachother’s backs no matter what.

You have been there for me through more than I could ever mention. When I lost the best person in my life you were there, when I married the love of my life you were there, when I ran out of gas on the side of the road you were there and when I just got lonely and needed a friend you were there and I hope you know that I would always do the same for you. When you need someone to have your back, to hold your hand or to lend an ear I am always here for you no matter how far apart we may live or how busy our lives get or how different things play out for us that is one thing that will never change.

I don’t know what I would do without you in my life but I know that is something I will never have to find out because I will never be without you. You are my bestfriend, I love you and you are stuck with me forever.

Leave a Reply

