Creating my grocery list

I buy my groceries on a weekly basis, it’s the method that works best with me with my process (points, cashback programs, couponing, paydays etc.). Somethings work better for different people. I am big on “intentionally shopping”  & since I have started doing that it has changed my life. One big part of intentional shopping is pre-planning. It is definitely something that takes up some time and requires dedication but it definitely plays off. Below is a step-by-step process on how I create my grocery list. This can be adapted depending on your situation & to make it as simple as I can I am going to write my list as I go through the steps.  

  • Grocery shopping date & time– Friday January 27th at noon (lunch break)
  • PC Point Offers for this week: I discussed PC points in my post on intentional shopping however if you haven’t read it the PC plus program is a rewards program associated with my local grocery store (20,000 pts= $20) and each week I get a customized list of offers. So before I start my list I go through my point offers and list the items I would like for this week that I can get points on.
    • 200 pts= every $1 spent on potatoes
    • 800 pts= no name cheese spread
    • 200 pts= every $1 spent on grapes
    • 200 pts= every $1 spent on books or magazines
    • 1,000 pts= no name cheese blocks
    • 200 pts= no name chicken or beef broth
    • 1,200 pts= every $6 spent on cascade
    • 750 pts = every $5 spent on gatorade
    • 500 pts= every $2 spent on old spice body wash, body spray or shampoo
    • 6,000 pts =every $20 spent on bounty, dawn or cascade
  • Checkout 51 offers for this week: My next step is to also get down any offers from checkout 51. Checkout 51 is an app that gives you cashback on your shopping and all you need to do is buy something from the list & take a picture of your reciept. I then look through the offers and create a list of items I would like cash back on .
    • $1.00 cashback= bounty products
    • $0.75 cashback= old spice deodorant, bodyspray, body wash, hair styling products, shampoo
    • $0.50 cashback= Corn pops
    • $0.75 cashback= lysol wipes (WALMART)
    • $1.13 cashback= cascade products
    • Enter for a chance to win $500 if trip is above $60.00
  • Meal Plan: Next I create my weekly meal plan with a “have” & “buy” list trying to use as much of the items I already have at home. 
    • Friday: Chicken Stew (Potatoes, Carrots, Chicken Breast, Broth, Onion Soup Mix)
    • Saturday: Takeout Day
    • Sunday: Breakfast for supper (eggs, Sausage, toast- bread & peanut butter)
    • Monday: Homemade pizza (pizza mix, pepperoni, mushrooms, ground beef, green peppers, cheese, flour, parm)
    • Tuesday: Speghetti & Mozza-stuffed meat-balls (eggs, flour, parm, cheese block, ground beef, classico pasta sauce, milk, speghetti, green peppers, mushrooms, breadsticks)
    • Wednesday: Chicken fingers & spicy fries (chicken fingers, spicy fries)
    • Thursday: Baked Fettucini alfredo & chicken (chicken, classico alfredo sauce, fettucini noodles, shredded cheese, parm, breadsticks)
  • Using the meal plan I list the items I need for a week of dinners: Bold= Points/ Underline=Cashback, Italics=Sale or coupon
    • Potatoes (1 meal)
    • Carrots (1 meal)
    • Chicken Breast (2 meals)
    • Broth (1 meal)
    • Onion soup mix (1 meal)
    • sausage (1 dinner + 2 breakfasts)
    • pizza mix (1 meal)
    • ground beef (2 meals)
    • green peppers (2 meals)
    • shredded cheese (2 meals)
    • chicken fingers (1 meal)
    • spicy fries (1 meal)
    • speghetti (1 meal)
    • fettucini (1 meal)
    • bread sticks (2 meals)
    • cheese block (1 dinner, 7 snacks)
    • classico bolognaise (1 meal)
    • classico alfredo (1 meal)
    • flour (2 meals)
    • parm (3 meals)
  • I then add snack, breakfast , lunch & beverage items (based on sale items & what I know will not go badquickly)
    • bread
    • hellman’s
    • sandwhich meat
    • cheese spread
    • oatmeal
    • grapes
    • baby carrots
    • corn pops
    • milk
    • chocolate milk
    • pepsi
    • gatorade
    • apple juice
  • Next I add cleaning items & personal care items
    • Lysol wipes
    • Cascade diswasher tabs
    • Bounty paper towel
    • Small kitchen garbage bags
    • Litter
    • Old spice deodorant
    • Secret deodorant
  • Using my list so far I search my flipp app to see what is on sale or has available coupons.
    • Chicken- $4.99/lb (**Canadian chicken prices are really high)
    • potatoes- $4.99/ 15 lb bag
    • sausage- $3.99
    • pizza mix- $3.99
    • ground beef- $3.49/lb
    • shredded cheese- $4.99
    • cheese block- $4.99
    • chicken fingers- $5.79
    • pasta (speghetti & fettucini)- $0.99
    • pasta sauce (bolonaise & alfredo)- $1.99
    • flour – $4.49
    • carrots- $1.49
    • hellmann’s- $3.99
    • sandwich meat- $3.99
    • pepsi- $4.99 (12 pack)
    • gatorade- $19.99 (24 pack)
    • garbage bags- $4.97
    • litter – $4.99
    • apple juice- 4/$5
    • lysol – $2.99
    • cascade- 20% off
    • deodorant- $1.88 (secret & old spice)- save $0.75 on old spice.

my grocery list for 1/27

pantry items:

  • cornpops
  • flour
  • mayonnaise
  • onion soup mix
  • speghetti
  • fettucini
  • alfredo sauce
  • bolognaise sauce
  • pizza mix

produce

  • carrots
  • baby carrots
  • potatoes
  • green pepper
  • grapes

dairy & eggs

  • chocolate milk
  • shredded cheese
  • cheese spread
  • block cheese
  • parm cheese

meat & seafood

  • boneless-skinless chicken breast
  • ground beef
  • sandwich meat
  • sausage

Frozen items

  • chicken fingers
  • spicy fries

Beverages

  • gatorade (24 pack)
  • pepsi (12 pack)
  • apple juice

Bakery

  • breadsticks
  • bread (**from bakery outlet)

Household

  • lysol wipes
  • kitchen garbage bags
  • cascade
  • bounty

personal care

  • secret deodorant
  • old spice deodorant

pets

  • litter
Leave a Reply

