Emergency Preparedness #2- Are your pets prepared

I don’t have any kids but my husband and I have four cats who we love more than anything in the world. People (especially those with kids) often get a look of judgment when I say they are like my children. My response is I witnessed two of them being born, I cannot pee or bath in peace, they depend on me for food & shelter, sometime they get rambunctious and keep me up all night; to me they are children. So if there is an emergency I need the peace of mind that they are going to be okay as well. You’ve probably heard of the 72 hour emergency kit for families but have you ever heard of the 72 pet emergency kit?

 What to include in your pet’s emergency kit.

  1. 72 hour supply of food (include bowls & can opener |if your pet is on wet food|)
  2. 72 hour supply of water
  3. leash, harness and/or muzzle
  4. pet carrier
  5. vet records & contact information
  6. ID tags & microchip numbers
  7. Blankets & Toys

In Canada we have an organization called CDART (Canadian Disaster Animal Response Team) who can rescue your pets if you are not home during an emergency.

For specific lists chose from the following emergency kit printables

Cat emergency Kit

Dog emergency Kit

 

 

 

One thought on “Emergency Preparedness #2- Are your pets prepared

Leave a Reply

