Developing a great morning routine

When you start the day off on the wrong foot it seems to last all day. That being said when you start the day off on a good foot it also seems to last all day. It’s not a hard choice to make, would you like a good day or a bad day? The question pretty much answers itself. So how do you start your morning off to create a productive day?

StockSnap_N5MVFW5G8F.jpgChoose your wakeup time– Choose a time that makes sense for you and your schedule. Do you get up at 6am to get the kids off to school? Do you get up at 10 because you work night shift? Everybody is different but when you pick your time stick to it. Mine is 6am.

 

stocksnap_s11n68rc5kEat breakfast right away– If you’ve heard it once you’ve heard it a thousand times “breakfast is the most important meal of the day”. There are a lot of people who skip breakfast either because they feel nauseous in the morning or just don’t have the time, i’m one of the latter. I have noticed that if I eat as soon as I get up my body doesn’t have time to realize what is happening and start to feel nauseous so I am able to eat. Same goes for those who don’t have the time, if it’s the first thing you do you won’t leave without eating.StockSnap_Z9S13UYTA0.jpg

Take a few minutes for yourself– Do you like to read? watch TV? just relax. Take sometime to do that in the morning. I usually take this time to watch one of my shows on my PVR. I watch over 40 ongoing TV shows so i’m usually behind.

Create yStockSnap_AYSVGBFCHG.jpgour daily schedule & to-dos– Get out your planner and previous night’s brain dump and create your daily to-do list and schedule. Read more about to-do lists here.

Get physical– Getting a quick workout in in the morning can make you feel pumped for the day. If you’re pressed for time even a few jumping jacks to get your blood flowing is a good start.StockSnap_SA20YXQRC4.jpg

Get ready for the day– Do your morning grooming (shower, hair,makeup, get dressed etc.) double check your bag (briefcase, purse etc.)

 

 

When you set up your daily routine set specific time periods for what you are planning to do. Do it for a few weeks and eventually it will become habit. 

My Morning Routine

0600- Wake up

0610- Breakfasts

0625- Watch TV

0710- Plan Day

0720- Take Shower/Hair/Teeth/Makeup/Get Dressed

0745- Start laundry & dishwasher

0800- Leave for work

what do you include in your morning routine? let me know in the comments.

24 thoughts on “Developing a great morning routine

  1. Kim says:

    I split up my morning routine depending on the day. I love these tips, but I try to do my cardio on an empty stomach. Other than that, I do all of this!

    Like

  2. Jeanine says:

    I struggle with breakfast so badly. I am not a breakfast person. I am never hungry in the morning, especially right away. I need to work on this!

    Like

  3. Lydia says:

    Ok this is something I definitely need to work on! You’ve inspired me! Breakfast is always hard for me, half the time I’m running out the door with an apple

    Like

  4. LP says:

    What a great idea, I unfortunately work varied hours so I don’t always get up at the same time every day + having an auto immune disease means I like my sleep!

    Like

Leave a Reply

